

MINUTES OF THE ALA FIFTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

HELD BY TELECONFERENCE ON MONDAY 26 NOVEMBER 2012

The meeting opened at 8.14 p.m. EDST

1. Welcome: Mike Slattery, ALA President, welcomed the Member Association Presidents, ALA Directors, Andrew Pratley of the Australian Sports Commission, Nigel Dias of Nexia Perth Business Solutions and observers to the meeting.

2. Present:

Member Asso	ciations:			
LV	Tim Fry	LSA	Bob Hewitson	
LT	Callum Gorringe	QLA	Brendan Lewer	
NSW	Tim Koodrin			
Observers:	Nigel Dias, Auditor, Nexia Perth Business Solutions			
Andrew Pratley, Sports Partnership Manager, Australian Sports Commission				

ALA Directors:	Jan Jackson	Vivienne Parker-White
	Mike Slattery	Paul Mollison
	Glenn Morley	

There were subsequent apologies received from LWA, Fran Maunton and Graham Sharpe, ALA Director.

3. Confirmation of Voting Members & explanation of meeting format:

Mike Slattery reiterated the voting procedure that only Member Associations have the right to vote.

The voting rights are: LSA, LV, LWA (not in attendance) – 4 votes each, NSWL, QLA – 2 votes each, LT – 1 vote, being a total of 17 votes (of which only 13 could be cast at this AGM due to LWA absence).

In order for any motion during the AGM to be passed it would require a simple majority.

It was noted that there was a quorum in attendance.

It was noted that ALA Directors do not have a vote at an Annual General Meeting, but do have the right to debate. Observers do not have the right of speech, unless recognised by the Chair, nor to vote.

The meeting was recorded and was conducted according to the ALA Constitution.

4. Confirmation of 4th ALA Annual General Meeting Minutes:

This meeting was held on 28 November 2011 and no corrections were recorded. It was noted that the recorded corrections to the ALA Annual Report 2011 were undertaken and the final document was circulated to all Member Associations.

Motion: "That the Minutes of the ALA 4th Annual General Meeting 2011 be ratified".
Moved: Bob Hewitson, LSA Seconded: Tim Koodrin, NSWLI
VOTE: CARRIED, with 1 abstention.

5. Presentation of Board Reports:

a. ALA 2012 Annual Report - It was noted that the document circulated, on 22 November 2012, was a draft document. Sincere thanks were extended to all Member Associations and ALA Directors for their contributions. It was explained that the draft document of ALA 2012 Annual Report was not in the final form, with some formatting difficulties having been encountered, and apologies were stated for this.

Member Associations are requested to notify the ALA Director of Administration of any corrections/typos which need to be attended to so that the final document can be put to print. It was agreed that notification of corrections/typographical errors which do not alter the meaning of the content of the draft ALA 2012 Annual Report be received.

The Chair laid the Annual Report on the table in its entirety while the matter of the Financial Statement was covered as this forms part of the Annual Report.

b. ALA Financial Report 2011/2012 – Mike Slattery extended thanks to Nexia Perth, ALA Auditors, to R.J. Hartnett and Associates and to Vivienne Parker-White for their contributions to the compilation of the Financial Report. There were no questions raised in relation to the Financial Report as provided.

Motion: "That the ALA Financial Statement for the year ended 30 June 2012 be accepted ".Moved: Brendan Lewer, QLASeconded: Bob Hewitson, LSAVOTE: Carried Unanimously

c. ALA 2012 Annual Report. - The Chair returned the Annual Report in its entirety to the meeting. There were no questions raised in relation to the Annual Report as provided.

Motion: "That the ALA 2012 Annual Report is accepted in its draft form, subject to the
corrections/typographical errors, be received and that it be implemented".Moved: Tim Fry, LVSeconded: B. Hewitson, LSAVOTE: Carried Unanimously

6. Election of Directors:

At this time in the meeting Mike Slattery acknowledged that he is one of the nominees to the ALA Election process and advised that he will step aside from the position of Chair and invite Jan Jackson, ALA Director, to temporarily take the position of Chair for the Election process.

Jan advised that there are three (3) ALA Director positions open for election, and that there have been three (3) nominations received. ALA, having followed the required and due process for ALA elections according to the ALA Constitution there is therefore no necessity for an election to take place.

It was noted that Fergus Stewart had been invited to again act in the position of ALA Returning Officer, for the election process, which Fergus did accept. However, given that the number of nominations matches the number of positions open for election the services of Fergus were then not required. Fergus has been informed of this situation and thanked for his willingness to again assist in this way.

Jan provided the meeting with the names of the nominees (as previously circulated) as being – Mike Slattery, Vivienne Parker-White and Glenn Morley.

Those re-elected Directors are – Mike Slattery and Vivienne Parker-White. The newly elected Director is Glenn Morley (who previously served one year as a casual appointment, caused by a prior director's resignation).

Jan then vacated the position of Chair and which Mike resumed. Mike thanked Jan for her assistance.

7. Special Business:

Member Associations were provided with a documented notification of a proposal to amend the ALA Constitution at the ALA 5th Annual General Meeting. The notification was for proposed changes to the Constitution in relation to Life Membership (Clause 16).

The notification contained rationale for the proposed changes, the relevant Constitution sections and the motions being put to the meeting.

As there were no questions raised the meeting moved to the motions as circulated –

Motion 1:

"That the ALA Constitution Clause 11.6 Life Members (1) be changed to read – The process for the awarding of Life Membership to a person who has rendered distinguished service to the game of lacrosse, where such service is deemed to have assisted the advancement of lacrosse in Australia, as a player or administrator or otherwise will be overseen by the ALA Honours and Awards Committee which will adhere to the specific requirements as approved by the ALA Board."

Moved: Tim Fry, LV Seconded: Bob Hewitson, LSA Vote: Carried Unanimously

Motion 2:

"That ALA Constitution Clause 11.6 Life Members (2) be deleted".Moved: Brendan Lewer, QLASeconded: Tim Fry, LVVote: Carried Unanimously

Motion 3:

"That ALA Constitution Clause 11.6 Life Members (3) be amended to read – No more than (1) Life Member may be appointed in any one year." **Moved**: Tim Fry, LV **Seconded**: Tim Koodrin, NSWLI **Vote: Carried Unanimously**

8. Close of meeting:

Formal thanks were extended to the Australian Sports Commission, and Andrew Pratley in particular, for the ongoing support of Australian Lacrosse. Thanks also to the Member Associations, ALA Directors and ALA auditor for their attendance.

The meeting closed at 8.31 p.m.