Members Appointed to Athlete Advisory Committee


ALA is excited to announce the member appointments to the inaugural Athletes Advisory Committee (AAC). The appointed members provide a voice for players in Australia and, combined, have a vast experience as players within lacrosse and provide a diverse perspective of all formats of the game and geographic playing experience (nationally and internationally).

Members of the AAC are Keith Nyberg (chair), Tegan Brown, Adden Cunningham, Atika Dunlop, Steve Mortimer, Ben Muxlow, Frank Nicholas, Hayley Sofarnos. The committee will play a key role in providing player insight, feedback and advice to key lacrosse stakeholders when investigating and making decision regarding rules, competition structures, performance programs and marketing the game of lacrosse.

Keith Nyberg, inaugural chair of the committee, said "I am excited to involved in the establishment and formation of the Australian Athlete Advisory Committee which aligns with World Lacrosse’s Athletes Commission. To provide a voice for and from the players relating to the future of the game is extremely important and hopefully will provide a new perspective and thought process to the key stakeholder of our sport here in Australia." 

ALA President, Glenn Morley, said “we are thrilled to have this key committee in place to help shape the future of the game. The committee’s combine experience and perspective is a real strength and will provide invaluable insight into the administration and development of lacrosse here in Australia and internationally. One of our goals as an organisation is to encourage a cultural shift to the development of lacrosse to enhance the individual’s experience. Having player involvement and opinions is key to achieve this goal.”

The committee will become active in the coming weeks, holding their first meeting and with a number of items on the horizon regarding competition formats and rule variations to shape the future of lacrosse competitions.

The committee’s inaugural term we have “transitional powers” meaning 4 members will hold a 2 year term and the other 4 members will hold a 3 year term to provide a sustainable application and appointment process, and to provide consistency and continuity for the committee.


Keith Nyberg

  • Eltham Lacrosse Club 
  • 4 x Australian Men Indoor player
  • Member of World Lacrosse Athlete Commission

Tegan Brown

  • East Fremantle Player
  • Multiple x Junior and Senior WA State player
  • 1 x Australian U19 and Senior Women player
  • Syracuse Division 1 player

Adden Cunningham

  • Sturt Lacrosse Club Junior to Senior player
  • 1 x Senior Women SA state Team player
  • College: St, Lawrence University player

Atika Dunlop

  • University of QLD Lacrosse Club.
  • Current Director for Lacrosse Queensland Association 

Stephen Mortimer

  • 250+ game player for Glenelg Lacrosse Club
  • 8 x senior SA team player
  • 2 x Australian Senior Men player
  • US College at Adelphi University
Edwin Niczynski 735

Ben Muxlow

    • Club player for Wembley lacrosse club
    • Multiple x Senior men & Indoor WA Team player
    • 1 x Australian Senior Men & Indoor player


Frank Nicholas

  • NSW Lacrosse
  • 2 x indoor NSW State Team player
  • Played in European Championships for Scotland

Hayley Sofarnos

  • Newport Ladies Lacrosse Club
  • Multiple x Senior Women State Team player
  • Multiple x Australian U19 & Senior player.