2015 Isaachsen and Shelley Maher Trophy Winners

Australian Lacrosse Association
Australian Lacrosse Association  

The O. C. Isaachsen Trophy (men) and Shelley Maher Trophy (women) are awarded to the Fairest and Best Players Australia-wide in the most senior men’s and women’s State competitions home and away qualifying round matches, based on votes awarded by match umpires.

The 2015 Isaachsen Trophy for the fairest and best player Australia-wide was won by Chris Plumb (Victoria).

The trophy was donated by Cedric Isaachsen to the Australian Lacrosse Council (ALC) in 1963.  He was a remarkable man who had a distinguished military career, rising to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel and earning the honour of Companion of the Distinguished Service Order (DSO), followed by a distinguished legal career.  Mr. Isaachsen was President of ALC 1962-65, then Vice-President for 14 years until 1979.  He was elected as a Fellow of the ALC in 1994.  He lived in South Australia and died in 2009, aged 97 years.

The Shelley Maher Trophy for the fairest and best player Australia-wide was won by Karen Morton (South Australia).

The trophy is named in honour of Shelley Maher and was instituted in 2012 by the ALA.  As the last President of Women’s Lacrosse Australia (2001-2009) Shelley committed to excellence in all areas of administration.  In her home State of Victoria Shelley was President of Women’s Lacrosse Victoria (1998-2001), and was elected a Life Member in 2001, and in 2009 of Women’s Lacrosse Australia.  She was active as a player with Williamstown Women’s Lacrosse Club and represented Victoria in senior competition (2002, 2005).  Shelley was an ALA Director (2007-2010) and now resides in the USA where she remains active in lacrosse as the Women’s Director on the Federation of International Lacrosse.

Congratulations are extended to Chris and Karen on achieving the pinnacle fairest and best player award in Australia.