Victoria Claims 2013 Men's National Indoor Championship

The 2013 Men's National Indoor Lacrosse All-Stars
The 2013 Men's National Indoor Lacrosse All-Stars
Image © Australian Lacrosse Association  
The 2013 Men's National Indoor Lacrosse finalists, Victoria and South Australia
The 2013 Men's National Indoor Lacrosse finalists, Victoria and South Australia
Image © Australian Lacrosse Association  

The 2013 Men's National Indoor Championships were held at Barmera, SA on November 2nd and 3rd with three teams: South Australia, Victoria and a New South Wales/Presidents team, competing for the Australian Indoor Lacrosse Champions title.

The games were played in an outdoor inline hockey venue two-and-a-half hours out of Adelaide in the Sunraysia district, beside Lake Bonney, an interesting and different venue, exposing our game to regional South Australia for the first time.

Saturday’s competition was held in hot and sunny conditions, with temperatures reaching 38 degrees Celsius, creating difficulties for the players, having to play two games with a minimum break between games. After both states were successful against the New South Wales side, the afternoon game between SA and Victoria was played under extreme heat and after a tough hard fought game, the final result was an eight-all tie, with Victoria scoring their final two goals in the last 90 seconds of the match, lucky to escape with a draw. After a cooling dip in the lake and a hearty meal at the local football club social club, the teams readied themselves for the final games on Sunday.

With another sunny day, but a cooling breeze on the Sunday, South Australia played out a comfortable win against News South Wales in the early game and Victoria scraped home against NSW in the second game, the highlight being the performance of Greg Mollison, standing in goals for the final two periods, giving Trevor Brennan, the Victorian goalkeeper, a much needed break in the lead up to the final, which was to follow after a 90 minute break in the afternoon.

The final began with the Victorian team coming out firing on all cylinders, completely dominating the play and not allowing SA to be able to get in the game. With a strong hard hitting defence and a fast deadly-accurate attack, Victoria was able to successfully keep SA out of the game for long periods and with six minutes of the game remaining led 14 goals to 4. With the game all but over, SA, to their credit, fought their way into the game scoring the last four goals of the game, to make the score look a little bit more respectable -- but it was all too late.

The highlights of the final, amongst a very even team effort, were the stand out efforts of Trevor Brennan, Goal Keeper, and the MVP for the final, Daniel Mentiplay, and Captain Caleb Hall for his efforts over the Championship. Coach Alan Lewer can be satisfied with his first Championship as Victorian coach, a task made more difficult with the tight time lines and lack of information leading up to the event.

The successful Victorian team were: Alan Lewer, Playing Coach, Greg Mollison, Playing Assistant Coach, Captain Caleb Hall, Jai Arambatzis, Trevor Brennan, Scott Filliponi, David Gall, Marty Hyde, Peter Kwas, Rod Maher, Daniel Mentiplay, Alexander Mercier, Keith Nyberg, Tim Ratje, Andrew Regan, Kotaro Saito, Manager, Ric Benedierks, Ass’t Manager, Paul Clough

Tournament Scores

Victoria 10 def. NSW 3

Victoria 8 tied SA 8

Victoria 9 def. NSW 8


Final Scores

Victoria 14 def. SA 8  


All-Star Team

  • Trevor Brennan, Victoria
  • Caleb Hall, Victoria
  • Chris De Mello, South Australia
  • Anthony Feleppa, South Australia
  • David Gal, Victoria
  • Jessie Whinnen, South Australia

  • Coach: Alan Lewer, Victoria
  • Official: Michael Bendall