Honours & Awards


ALA accepts nominations on an annual basis from clubs and/or associations with the closing date advised annually. Presentation of successful nominations will be at the ALA Annual Recognition Dinner.
Information regarding the ALA Merit Awards can be found here:


ALA accepts nominations on an annual basis from Member Associations only with the closing date advised annually. Presentation of successful nominations will be at the ALA Annual Recognition Dinner.
Information regarding ALA Life Membership can be found here:
Closing date for nominations is close of business on 22nd April in any given year.


The ALA bestows a number of honours and awards each year, some of which are described below.

Personal Awards

Isaachsen Trophy - Best and Fairest Men's Player

The trophy was donated by Cedric Isaachsen to the Australian Lacrosse Council (ALC) in 1963. He was a remarkable man who had a distinguished military career, rising to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel and earning the honour of Companion of the Distinguished Service Order (DSO), followed by a distinguished legal career. Mr. Isaachsen was President of ALC 1962-65, then Vice-President for 14 years until 1979. He was elected as a Fellow of the ALC in 1994. He lived in South Australia and died in 2009, aged 97 years.

Shelley Maher Trophy - Best and Fairest Women's Player

The trophy is named in honour of Shelley Maher and was instituted in 2012 by the ALA. As the last President of Women’s Lacrosse Australia (2001-2009) Shelley committed to excellence in all areas of administration. In her home State of Victoria Shelley was President of Women’s Lacrosse Victoria (1998-2001), and was elected a Life Member in 2001, and in 2009 of Women’s Lacrosse Australia. She was active as a player with Williamstown Women’s Lacrosse Club and represented Victoria in senior competition (2002, 2005). Shelley was an ALA Director (2007-2010) and now resides in the USA where she remains active in lacrosse as the Women’s Director on the Federation of International Lacrosse.

Australian Senior Player Recognition

The ALA has initiated the recognition of past Australian players who have played in a full International lacrosse competition. It has taken considerable time and painstaking effort to get to this stage whereby some of the past Australian Team players are to be recognised. Other Australian teams such as Touring Teams, Under 19 Teams and Indoor Teams will be recognised in the future.

The past Australian Players who we initially recognise have been given an individual number based on the first team (separate for men and women) they were selected in with this number being for all time.

The team numbering will commence from the competitions (International Tests and World Cup or World Series) that effectively formed the ILF & IFWLA and which have now merged into what has become the FIL. Each player will be presented with an ALA certificate with their name and specific selection number on it at the annual ALA Recognition Dinner.

View the list of Senior Men's players who have received their numbered certificate, /media/146105/Recognition-for-Website-Mens-Certificates-presented-as-at-2015.pdf

View the list of Senior Women's players who have received their numbered certificate, /media/146102/Recognition-for-Website-Womens-Certificates-presented-as-at-2015.pdf